Destination: Brazil 2014

Estadio das Dunas

Need to go modern The Estadio Joao Claudio de Vasconcelos Machado, better known as the Machadão was the biggest stadium in the Natal region. The leading teams of Natal, the capital of Rio Grande do… Read more..

2014 Brazil World Cup Mascot

Three months ago, FIFA and former Brazil striker Ronaldo unveiled the mascot of World Cup 2014, which is an armadillo! Armadillo is a small to medium-sized mammal with a leathery armor shell that is… Read more..

World Cup Blog & News

Keeping an Eye on World Cup Qualifying Odds

14.08.15 News
The qualifying rounds for the upcoming World Cup 2018 are in full swing and so are the books for the odds on some of the best international soccer around. The BBC reports that the 2018 World Cup… Read more..
Default Image

Betting on sports

15.08.13 World Cup Blog
Nowadays, online betting is one of the most popular ways to bet to your favorite soccer teams all around the world. You can either enter your betting picks before the start of a match (or even more)… Read more..

Confederations Cup 2013

Written by Sebastien on 16 February 2013. Posted in Confederations Cup 2013

The Confederations Cup is a tournament organized by FIFA and reuniting the previous World Cup winner and the six winners from the continental championships. The host country also qualifies automatically. Since 2005 the Confederations Cup takes place every four years, in the year preceding the World Cup and it is considered a rehearsal for the larger tournament. Confederation Cup 2013 in Brazil is scheduled to take place between the 15th and the 30th of June. Brazil, besides being the host country, is also the defending champions.

Some of the games scheduled in the Confederation Cup 2013 overlap with games in the qualifications for World Cup 2014 in Asia. The Asian Football Confederation initially asked FIFA to change the dates to some games, but then decided that a change was only needed for Japan, the representative of AFC to the Confederations Cup.

There are, as always, eight teams qualified for Confederation Cup: Brazil (the host country), Spain (the winner of World Cup 2010), Japan (winner of AFC Asian Cup), Mexico (winner of CONCACAF Gold Cup), Uruguay (winner of Copa America), Tahiti (winner of OFC Nations Cup), Nigeria (winner of Africa Cup of Nations) and Italy (the runners-up from UEFA 2012). Italy had the chance to participate in the confederation cup because Spain was both the winner of World Cup 2010 and UEFA 2012. In order to still have eight teams in the competition, the runners-up from UEFA 2012 was invited to join the confederation cup.

It is the first time when Tahiti qualifies for the Confederations Cup. Italy, Nigeria and Uruguay are at their second participation, while Japan attends the event for the fifth time. Mexico participates for the sixth time and Brazil has the most participations – seven.

Uruguay, Italy and Spain have already won the World Cup and the Olympic football competition in the past. If one of them wins the Confederations Cup 2013 Brazil, it becomes the third team in history to win all the major competitions held by FIFA. The performance was only achieved by Argentina and France so far.

The eight teams are divided into two groups of four. The draw took place in Sao Paolo, Brazil on the 1st of December 2012. According to FIFA regulations, teams from the same confederation are not supposed to be in the same group. Group A consists of Brazil, Japan, Mexico and Italy and Group B is formed of Spain, Uruguay, Tahiti and Nigeria. The two best teams from each group advance to the semifinals. The position of the teams in groups is determined taking into consideration first the number of points obtained in group matches, secondly the goal difference in all group matches and thirdly the greatest number of goals scored in group matches. If the above mentioned criteria still can’t make a difference between two teams, there are four more which can be used: the number of points obtained in group matches between the concerned teams, the goal difference in group matches between the concerned teams, the number of goals scored in group matches between the concerned teams and, eventually, drawing of lots by FIFA. In semi-finals, the winner of Group A is going to play against the runner-up of Group B and the winner of Group B is going to meet the runner-up of Group A. The winners in these two games are going to play the final, while the losers are going to compete for the third place.

The official schedule of the Confederations Cup 2013 was made public on the 30th of May 2012 in Rio de Janeiro. The first game is going to take place on the 15th of June and the final is scheduled for the 30th of the same month. Six stadiums from Belo Horizonte, Rio de Janeiro, Salvador, Fortaleza, Brasilia and Recife are going to be used.

World Cup History latest news

Franz Beckenbauer

Franz Beckenbauer is generally regarded as one of the best German footballers of all the time. His nickname, "Der Kaizer" (The Emperor) was attributed to him because of his great playing style. He… Read more..
Default Image

1930 Uruguay World Cup

At the FIFA Congress in 1929, Uruguay was decided to be the country that will host the first World Cup. The dream of the FIFA President Jules Rimet takes place, and the first World Cup trophy takes… Read more..

Get our newsletter!

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive all our updates with useful articles, information and all you need to know for Brazil 2014 World Cup!